The European Economic Association

Newsletter EEA

Newsletter JEEA

Newsletter WinE
Birgit Grodal Award

The EEA Council, in its meeting in Glasgow 2010, agreed unanimously to institute a prize to a European-based female economist who has made a significant contribution to the Economics profession. In October 2011, after having spent over 12 months working on the particulars of the award, the EEA President, Christopher Pissarides officially announced the award. 

The award is to be named after Birgit Grodal, who was the first female elected President of the EEA, but sadly passed away before she was due to take up her presidency. The Birgit Grodal Award is bestowed every even year and the first six editions are sponsored by the Danmarks Nationalbank. The winner of the Birgit Grodal Award receives €10 000.

The selection committee, composed of five members, asks all EEA members for nominations. The Committee then discusses the nominations put forward by EEA members and makes a shortlist. In Spring of each year in which the award is given, the Committee proposes one candidates for the award to the EEA Executive Committee. The selection committee also informs the EEA Executive Committee of how the decision was reached, the motivation for the nominated candidates, as well as a list of any other candidates that were considered during the last stages of the process as potential winners of the award. The EEA Executive Committee then endorses the proposal of award winner. If for some reason the proposed winner is not endorsed, the EEA Executive Committee asks the selection committee to reconsider its proposal. The winner is announced immediately after the endorsement. The announcement is posted on EEA website.

The 2018 Birgit Grodal Award Committee is composed of Ernst Fehr (Chair), Rachel Griffith, Rondini Pande, Christian Schultz and Guido Tabellini. 

The 2018 Birgit Grodal Award Winner

The EEA is delighted to announce that Ekaterina Zhuravskaya of Paris School of Economics has won the 2018 Birgit Grodal Award.

Ekaterina Zhuravskaya is a leading scholar in empirical political economics, and she is a world leader in the important and growing area studying the economics of the media. Her influential contributions have shown that the media can have profound political effects in important contemporary and historical settings, both in democracies and in autocracies. She has also done outstanding work in economic development, which has enhanced our understanding of the economic and political challenges faced by middle income countries and transition economies. In these areas, she has worked on a broad range of questions, from federalism, to the introduction of new laws such as bankruptcy laws, to privatization, corruption, ethnic diversity, and entrepreneurship. Finally, she has also made important contributions to building research capacity in Russia and in France.

The EEA is pleased to be rewarding such a talented individual and the Association warmly congratulates the winner.

Ekaterina will be presented with her award during the annual EEA-ESEM Congress held between Monday August 27 and Friday August 31 in Cologne, Germany.

For more information on Ekaterina's work, please visit here.


Past receipients of this award are:

2012: Hélène Rey

2014: Rachel Griffith

2016: Lucrezia Reichlin

Last update March 22, 2018
E-mail address:


Lost password?

All Content Copyright 2008 European Economic Association
Web site development and maintenance by EFFEDESIGN
Graphic design by MASSA&MARTI