The European Economic Association

Newsletter EEA

Newsletter JEEA

Newsletter WinE
Yrjö Jahnsson Award

In 1993 the Finnish Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation established a biennial award, called the Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics, for a European economist no older than 45 years old who has made a contribution in theoretical and applied research that is significant to economics in Europe. The European Economic Association (EEA) cooperates with the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation in the selection of the award winners. The first award was presented at the 1993 Helsinki Congress. The winner of the Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics receives €20 000 from the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation.

In 2010, the EEA and the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation decided to change the selection procedure. The selection committee, composed of five members, since 2010, proposes one (or two candidates) for the award to the EEA Executive Committee. The selection committee also informs the EEA Executive Committee of how the decision was reached, the motivation for the nominated candidates, as well as a list of any other candidates that were considered during the last stages of the process as potential winners of the award. The EEA Executive Committee and the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation then endorse the proposal of award winner(s). If for some reason the proposed winner is not endorsed, the EEA Executive Committee asks the selection committee to reconsider its proposal. The winner is no longer announced at the annual EEA congress (although he/she is presented with award here), but immediately after the endorsement. The announcement is posted on EEA and Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation websites.  

The 2017 Yrjö Jahnsson Award

The EEA is delighted to announce that 2017 Award Committee has decided to award TWO deserving economists with this prize for 2017.

Ran Spiegler, of School of Economics, Tel Aviv University, and Department of Economics, University College London, for his important contributions to economic theory and bounded rationality. His investigation of new behavioral models has important implications for our understanding of industrial organization and consumer behaviour.


Michèle Tertilt, University of Mannheim, for her important contributions to family economics and household finance. Her work has uncovered the salient implications of gender roles for macroeconomics, development, and fertility. Her research has also contributed to our understanding of the development of consumer credit markets and default rates

The EEA and the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation approved the Selection Committee’s decision.

The EEA is pleased to be rewarding such talented individuals and the Association warmly congratulates the winners.

Ran and Michèle will be presented with their Award during the annual EEA Congress to be held in Lisbon, Portugal.

2017 Yrjö Jahnsson Award Selection Committee – Mark Armstrong (Co-Chair), Armin Falk, Hélène Rey (Co-Chair), Kjetil Storesletten and Hannu Vartiainen.


Official Press Release

Please click here for a list of past recipients. 




Last update March 28, 2017
E-mail address:


Lost password?

All Content Copyright 2008 European Economic Association
Web site development and maintenance by EFFEDESIGN
Graphic design by MASSA&MARTI