The European Economic Association


The 35th Annual Congress of the European Economic Association will be held at the ERASMUS University Rotterdam (The Netherlands) from Monday, August 24 to Thursday August 27, 2020.

Erasmus School of Economics is the oldest, and with approximately 6,500 students and 400 faculty and staff members, one of the largest schools within Erasmus University Rotterdam.

The history of Erasmus School of Economics goes back to the year 1913 when the ‘Nederlandse Handelshoogeschool’ was established by a group of entrepreneurial Rotterdam businessmen with the aim to bring economics and business to a higher level by way of scientific methods. In 1939 the School changed its name and became known as the ‘Nederlandse Economische Hogeschool’ (Netherlands School of Economics). The name change did not mean a change in the practice-oriented way of teaching. Education and research remained its primary focus. In 1969 received our professor Jan Tinbergen the first Nobel prize in Economics. By 1973 the Netherlands School of Economics became Erasmus University Rotterdam, comprising the medical campus Hoboken and the social sciences campus Woudestein. Even in those days its aim was the establishment of a vigorous and flourishing University with a – nowadays – prominent Erasmus School of Economics, incorporating a wide range of economic expertise, as well as keeping strong ties with the regional and international markets. Because of its exclusive choice for the economic perspective and fundamentals, Erasmus School of Economics differs from other schools within other Dutch universities, where Economics usually has merged with Business Administration.

Erasmus School of Economics has evolved into an internationally renowned institute. The pursuit of academic and intellectual excellence is at the heart of all the School’s research programs:  Economics, Applied Economics, Econometrics and Management Science, Finance and Accounting and Marketing. The research activities are facilitated by two research institutes accredited by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts & Science.

The Local Arrangements Committee (LAC), chaired by Philip Hans Franses, looks forward to working with the EEA 2020 Scientific Programme Committee Chairs, Katrine V Løken and Vasco M. Carvalho, and welcoming you all to Rotterdam.

Learn more about the plenary lectures to be given by Alan Manning, Antoinette Schoar and EEA President, Per Kruselland the invited sessions (coming soon).




November 15, 2019
Paper Submission Opens
February 15, 2020 (24:00 GMT)
Paper Submission Closes
April 18, 2020
Notification of Paper Acceptance
May 16, 2020 (24:00 GMT)
Early Registration Deadline
August 24, 2020
Congress Begins
August 27, 2020
Congress Ends


CONTACT: For general questions about the venue and the city, contact For scientific information, please contact





Last update October 21, 2019
E-mail address:


Lost password?

All Content Copyright 2008 European Economic Association
Web site development and maintenance by EFFEDESIGN
Graphic design by MASSA&MARTI