The European Economic Association

Newsletter EEA

Newsletter JEEA

Newsletter WinE
Young Economist Award

The EEA has bestowed the Young Economist Award to the authors under 30 years of age or no more than 3 years past a PhD defence of outstanding papers presented during contributed sessions of the EEA annual congresses for over 20 years. In 2016, the EEA Council decided that eligible candidates (and all co-authors) should be no more than 3 years past a PhD defense.

From 2009 to 2015, the Award was known as the FEEM Award and sponsored by the Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei. In 2016 and 2017 UniCredit & Universities Foundation supported the Award and each of the 3 Award winners received a financial award. The EEA thanks the Foundations for their kind support.

The 2017 Award Winners

Stéphane Dupraz, A Kinked-Demand Theory of Price Rigidity

Matteo Gamalerio, Fiscal Rules and the Selection of Politicians: Evidence from Italian Municipalities

Petra Thiemann, Does teacher sorting across and within schools explain inequality in education outcomes?

Motivation letter here



Please click here for a list of Young Economist Award winners since 2016

Please click here for a list of past recipients prior to 2009 and here for a list of past recipients of the FEEM Award.


Last update August 07, 2018
E-mail address:


Lost password?

All Content Copyright 2008 European Economic Association
Web site development and maintenance by EFFEDESIGN
Graphic design by MASSA&MARTI