The European Economic Association

Newsletter EEA

Newsletter JEEA

Newsletter WinE
Yrjö Jahnsson Award

In 1993 the Finnish Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation established a biennial award, called the Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics, for a European economist no older than 45 years old who has made a contribution in theoretical and applied research that is significant to economics in Europe. The European Economic Association (EEA) cooperates with the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation in the selection of the award winners. The first award was presented at the 1993 Helsinki Congress. The winner of the Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics receives €20 000 from the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation.

In 2010, the EEA and the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation decided to change the selection procedure. The selection committee, composed of five members, since 2010, proposes one (or two candidates) for the award to the EEA Executive Committee. The selection committee also informs the EEA Executive Committee of how the decision was reached, the motivation for the nominated candidates, as well as a list of any other candidates that were considered during the last stages of the process as potential winners of the award. The EEA Executive Committee and the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation then endorse the proposal of award winner(s). If for some reason the proposed winner is not endorsed, the EEA Executive Committee asks the selection committee to reconsider its proposal. The winner is no longer announced at the annual EEA congress (although he/she is presented with award here), but immediately after the endorsement. The announcement is posted on EEA and Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation websites.  

The 2015 Yrjö Jahnsson Award

The EEA is delighted to announce that the 2015 Yrjö Jahnsson Selection Committee has awarded Botond Kőszegi of Central European University, Budapest, Hungary, the 2015 prize for his contribution to the theoretical foundations of behavioral economics, and its application to public finance and contract theory. His influential research on reference-dependent preferences extends the concept of loss aversion by determining the reference point endogenously. The approach has been applied with success to a wide range of economic issues including auctions, firms' pricing behavior, labor supply and savings decisions, and risk preferences.

The EEA and the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation approved the Selection Committee’s decision.

The EEA is pleased to be rewarding such a talented individual and the Association warmly congratulates the winner.

Watch Botond speak about his research:

Botond was presented with his Award during the annual EEA Congress held in Mannheim, Germany, August 2015.

2015 Yrjö Jahnsson Award Selection Committee - Fabrizio Zilibotti (Chair), Mark Armstrong, Timothy Besley, Hélène Rey and Juuso Välimäki.

Please click here for a list of past recipients. 




Last update November 04, 2015
E-mail address:


Lost password?

All Content Copyright 2008 European Economic Association
Web site development and maintenance by EFFEDESIGN
Graphic design by MASSA&MARTI