Education Committee Awards

In 2022, the EEA, through its Education Committee, institutes a number of prizes to those academic economists who have made a significant contribution to spreading knowledge on economics through their teaching.

There are 2 types of annual awards:

1. The EEA Award for Exceptional Teaching

The EEA Award for Exceptional Teaching is given to 3 categories:

  • Junior (non-tenured)
  • Senior (tenured or equivalent)
  • Early career (teaching assistants and/or PHD Students).

Nominations to the award are channeled through academic departments, who will be allowed to present a unique candidate for each of the 3 prizes. Nominations must include a short report justifying the reasons why the candidate deserves the prize. The prize consists of 1000 euros.

2. The EEA Award for Innovation in Teaching

The EEA Award for Innovation in Teaching is given to an individual / group, who has / have produced an innovation in their teaching (even if in pilot form). The prize is in the form of a seed grant of 2000 euros, to allow for the further development of the project. Applications must include a report from the individual / group explaining their project as well as two letters of support by senior faculty members explaining the contribution of the innovative project. The Committee accepts self-nominations.

Deadline for all applications for the 2024 Awards in both categories : June 30, 2024
Apply to :
Award Committee : Coming soon


Maria Guadalupe (INSEAD), Meg Meyer (University of Oxford) and Pedro Rey Biel (ESADE)


The 2023 Awards have now been announced. Click for Exceptional Teaching and Innovation in Teaching