Role Models in Economics Award

We are very pleased to announce a new EEA Award: the annual "Role Models in Economics". For full information, please read here.


As Chair of the inaugural Award Committee (consisting of Martina Björkman Nyqvist, Thomas Chaney, Florian Scheuer and Galina Zudenkova), I am writing to invite you to nominate an individual for the 2023 Role Models in Economics Award. Self-nominations are accepted too.

The 2023 award is for an economist, older than 45 years, who has made fundamental contributions to institution building within Europe with long-term vision, establish innovative academic programs (undergraduate, master, PhD), lead departments and research centers which attract talents to Europe and foster the careers of junior faculty, set up innovative dissemination and outreach initiatives that can positively impact the lives of people well beyond academia. 

The winner of the Award will be announced in early Summer, and the Award will be presented to the recipient during EEA-ESEM 2023.

Please send nominations to us through Please include in your nomination:

  • the name of nominee and link to his / her website
  • a statement of the nominee's key contributions made to the public good (in the case of a self-nomination, please accompany your nomination with a statement containing concrete initiatives you will contribute to to foster the careers of PhD students and junior faculty in Europe). 

Please put ""Role Models in Economics Nomination" in the subject line of your message.

The Committee may get in touch with you for further information or questions about your nomination.

Nominations for the award are not made public.

The closing date for nominations is May 24 (at 12:00 noon CEST).

Best wishes,

Maristella Botticini, EEA President, 2023